Have to delete your Netflix history because you’re sick of receiving recommendations for Netflix based on that one show you watched for only two episodes? The good news is that you may stop it by removing a title from your viewing history!
While “Bridgerton” is much more appropriate for your sophisticated taste, perhaps you don’t want to be reminded of the time you eventually gave in and chose to play “You” well after the majority of the audience.
Or perhaps you opted to binge-watch every episode of “Love Is Blind,” and you don’t need any more suggestions for reality TV.
There is a handy feature that allows you to remove the content from your watch history that you no longer want to appear in your “continue watching” feed or influence your recommendations. This prevents a bunch of Netflix shows that you haven’t watched in a while from cluttering up your feed and doing this.
One of the many Netflix tricks allows you to delete specific movies, series, or episodes from your history so that the algorithm only contains the content you truly desire.
Quick Steps: How to Unblock Netflix Library From Anywhere
Delete Your Netflix History: What Are The Benefits?
Your profile includes a record of all the series and movies you have seen on Netflix. This is known as your Netflix history. As you browse the app, Netflix utilizes this data to suggest other movies it believes you’ll enjoy.
These are a few primary factors that may motivate you to delete your Netflix history:
You don’t want Netflix to keep making recommendations for movies or television shows based on what you’ve already seen, either because you don’t believe your watching habits accurately reflect your preferences or because you don’t want to be swayed by an algorithm.
Netflix’s algorithm will selectively remove the types of episodes from your past that you don’t want to see more of if you want it to only show you certain types of shows and not others.
Keeping your watch history private:
If someone is spending time with you (such as a date or a friend) or using your account (such as a parent or child), you don’t want them to be able to see what you’ve been watching.
Who needs to know that you binge-watched sad movies last weekend and sobbed while watching them?
If you lend your account to someone, you don’t want their ‘watch history’ to affect your Netflix recommendations. Netflix has an algorithm that recommends new content to watch based on your previously watched movies and shows.
If the person you lend the account to has a completely different preference for shows and movies than you, the algorithm will pick it up and give your suggestions you might not prefer. To avoid this, it is best to delete your Netflix history!
What Is The Process After You Delete Your Netflix History?
The television series and movies you’ve seen on Netflix can be deleted individually or collectively. Following that, they won’t be utilized to suggest comparable episodes or movies to you or show up in your account’s viewing activity or “Continue Watching” area.
This also implies that you won’t be able to simply pick up where you left off watching your shows or movies.
If you delete your Netflix history on one device, it will be removed from all of your other devices as well. Once gone, your Netflix history cannot be retrieved.
In addition, even if you delete your Netflix history from your account, the streaming platform probably still has a record of everything you’ve seen.
How To Delete Your Netflix History: A Detailed Guide
Want to delete your Netflix history? Well, deleting your Netflix history is much simpler than you would have thought.
You mostly do this by navigating your Profile page, where you’ll eventually be shown a list of every movie you’ve ever seen and asked to choose which ones to keep and which ones to delete.
As soon as you do this, Netflix’s algorithm is reset and you won’t get any recommendations for TV episodes or movies that don’t seem to fit with your current interests.
According to what you need to delete, you can either delete your Netflix history on your desktop or the Netflix mobile apps. You can delete your entire history or certain episodes or films if you use Netflix on a computer. The Netflix mobile apps only allow you to delete individual entries.
The deleted entries should no longer be included in “Continue Watching” right away, but it can take up to 24 hours before you no longer receive recommendations for comparable movies.
Delete Your Netflix History On the Computer
There are two ways in which you can delete your Netflix history on the computer, you can delete the shows or movies one by one or you could delete your Netflix history in one go!
Here are the steps to delete your Netflix history content on your Netflix feed:
- Log into your account on your computer.
- Look under “Continue Watching.”
- Place the pointer on the program or movie you want to delete.
- When the delete symbol appears, click it.
- Choose a justification for wanting to remove the program or film.
The methods below should let you see a complete list of everything you’ve watched so you can choose which programs or movies to delete:
- Log into your account on your computer.
- Click the profile icon > Account in the top-right corner.
- Click the downward pointing arrow next to your profile to access Profile & Parental Controls.
- Then select Watching activity.
- A complete list of your watch history will be displayed.
- When you find the entry you wish to remove, click the Delete icon next to it.
- Go to the bottom, click Hide All, and then erase every entry.
Delete Your Netflix History On the Mobile App
Here are the steps to delete your Netflix history on your mobile app:
- Sign in to your Netflix account using the app.
- Hit the three-dot icon next to the program or movie you want to remove in the “Continue Watching” section.
- Choose “Remove From Row” > “OK.”
Delete Your Netflix History On Your TV
After selecting an episode or movie on a smart TV running Netflix, the option “Remove From Continue Viewing” ought to be shown.
It’s usually preferable to visit the Netflix official website on your phone or desktop and remove your history there if you don’t have access to this feature.
What Is Some Good Content To Enjoy On Netflix?
Netflix has a treasure trove of good content, which is one of the main reasons why it is one of the top streaming services in the world. Here is some of the content you can watch on Netflix!
Here is a list of the top shows on Netflix right now:
These are some of the best shows Netflix has to offer to its audience right now!
- The Night Agent
- Lockwood & Co.
- Shadow and Bone
- The Umbrella Academy
Here is a list of the top Asian Dramas on Netflix right now:
Asian dramas have been on the rise lately and here are the best ones out available on Netflix:
- Extraordinary Attorney Woo
- Mr. Queen
- 18 Again
- Twenty-FIve Twenty-One
- Crash Landing on You
Here is a list of the top movies on Netflix right now:
Oscar-nominated and classics you cannot go wrong with:
- Spiderman: No Way Home
- Pacific Rim
- The Mummy
- Rush Hour
Here is a list of the top anime on Netflix right now:
Another genre which has been gaining popularity with the rise of Asian content is anime, and Netflix has decent collection of it in their library:
- Jujutsu Kaisen
- Demon Slayer
- One Punch Man
- Death Note
- Chainsaw Man
is Netflix Compatible with multiple devices?
You can log into multiple devices with the same account if you have the premium plan. If you are currently subscribed to the basic plan, you can only watch on your phone.
How to watch Netflix content which is not available in my region?
If you wish to enjoy Netflix content that is not available in your region, you will need to subscribe to a VPN and connect to a country where that particular content is available.
By doing so, you are creating a faux IP address for yourself which helps you bypass geographic restrictions!
If I delete a profile on Netflix, will the Watch History also be deleted?
Yes, if you delete a Netflix profile, the watch history associated with that profile will also be deleted.
Now that you have learned how to delete your Netflix History, you can easily browse through Netflix when you have friends or a date over without worrying about them knowing your watch history.
The same goes for the situation in which you share your account with someone, be it your parents, your children, or your friends!
If you follow the steps given above, you should have no problems in deleting your Netflix history from anywhere!